Defining Process Participants and Process Contributors
Process Participants can find the processes they have been assigned to under Relevant Processes.
Process Participants can find the processes they have been assigned to under Relevant Processes. They are notified about relevant events concerning these processes. In addition to the options available to a Process Participant, a Process Contributor has access to all process versions and the attachments.
Prerequisites
You are the Process Owner of the process or a BPM Manager.
Context
Role assignment for processes comprises Process Owners, Process Contributors and Process Participants. These role assignments cause the processes to be displayed to the users under Relevant Processes. They are notified automatically about relevant changes to the process.
All users who take part in carrying out the process should be assigned as Process Participants.
If the process has lanes (areas of responsibility), separate overviews of the participants are created automatically for each lane.
Process Contributors support the Process Owners with their specialist expertise. They have access to all process versions and can also manage attachments.
How to proceed
-
On the process page, click ⋮ Settings and Information.
The dialog of the same name appears.
-
Click Roles and Permissions.
The page displays the sections Process Owners, Process Contributors, Process Participants and Blocked Users.
-
To add a participant or contributor, click the edit icon in the relevant section.
The selection dialog appears.
-
To search for a user by name or email address, enter a corresponding character string in the search field.
The list is restricted to the matching entries.
-
To define a user as a participant or contributor, select the check box.
-
To display all current assignments, activate the selection filter Selected only.
The current assignments are displayed.
-
To confirm the current assignments, click Apply selection.
The applied assignments are listed.
-
To remove a participant or contributor, clear the selection.
The user is removed as a participant or contributor of the process.